BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2021: Who are the nominees, what time does it start and what TV channel is it on?

 BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2021: Who are the nominees, what time does it start and what TV channel is it on?

The BBC’s annual programme anointing the Sports Personality of the Year is back on our screens this month. And tennis star Emma Raducanu is a firm favourite to win the main prize after her fairytale triumph at the US Open in September. She is joined on the shortlist by five other stars from a superb sporting year.

What is it?

Spoty is the BBC’s long-running end of year sports review show to crown the Sports Personality of the Year. It remains, for some viewers, one of sport’s most prestigious awards.

When is it?

The event takes place on Sunday, December 19 with voting open to the public during the BBC’s programme. The show is broadcast on BBC One.

Where is it?

The event will be broadcast live from from Media City in Salford.

What time will it start?

Coverage begins at 6.45pm GMT and is due to finish at 9pm GMT. 

How can I watch it?

BBC One and BBC iPlayer will have live coverage of the show, presented by Gabby Logan, Clare Balding, Gary Lineker, and Alex Scott. Alternatively, you could follow the event by reading our live blog.

Who are the contenders?

This year’s six nominees are: swimmer Adam Peaty, tennis player Emma Raducanu, footballer Raheem Sterling, Paralympic cyclist Dame Sarah Storey, diver Tom Daley and boxer Tyson Fury.

F1 driver Lewis Hamilton leads a stellar cast of 2021’s sporting stars to miss out, with the corporation refusing to extend the shortlist despite it being a summer Olympic and Paralympic year. 

What are the latest odds?

  • Emma Raducanu – 1/20
  • Tom Daley – 12/1
  • Tyson Fury – 33/1
  • Adam Peaty – 100/1
  • Sarah Storey – 150/1
  • Raheem Sterling – 150/1

Who won last year’s award?

F1 star Lewis Hamilton became only the fifth person to win the award more than once after equalling Michael Schumacher’s record of seven Formula One world titles and beating his record of Grand Prix victories.

The 35-year-old won the public vote ahead of Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson and trailblazing jockey Hollie Doyle, who finished second and third, respectively.

Hamilton just missed out on this year’s shortlist after being pipped to the world title by Max Verstappen in a chaotic final lap shootout in Abu Dhabi.

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *